Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | May 21, 2014

Falling in Love with Radio, Again

Passing On Information

I recently completed a learning styles survey which revealed that my listening skills are well, for lack of a better word, weak. I was a little taken aback by this since I am an educator and engage in many listening activities: small group and student-centered teaching activities, department and discipline meetings (OK maybe that’s just work-related) and committee work on campus. I’m even a part-time caretaker to an 87-year-old, who has an endless ability to gab. As someone who tries to improve upon personal deficiencies, I struggled on how to remedy this. Do I take notes while people talk? Should I read up on listening strategies? What about interviewing people who are “good listeners”? Is this even effective? What makes someone a good listener? Can someone change their listening abilities through practice? I have no idea.

I thought about my deficiency a lot this summer. I wondered when did my…

View original post 437 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

