Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | August 24, 2013

Making the most with what I have

There is this one spot at our house that has always been a challenge.  We’ve tried planting stuff with the existing dirt but nothing seems to work.  So I decided to suck it up and try a little landscaping.

the-area-small

As you can see, it is not the prettiest.  The dirt was a mixture of red dirt and rocks…lots of rocks.  There also was this root from a very stubborn tree that I had to remove.  That in itself was tough.  Actually, part of the root is still there because it was nearly impossible to remove with my limited tool selection.

IMG_2998-small

This is a close up.  On the far left is the stubborn tree.  I couldn’t move it so I had to do something with it.  You’ll see in a little bit.

IMG_2999-small

I started to dig once I figured out what I was going to do with the area.  If any of you are familiar with Hawaii during the summer, there is only one word that comes to mind….HUMID.  It was brutal but I was determined to get it done.

IMG_3002-small

The depth of the area was determined by the roots that I could not remove.  So it is about 8 1/2 inches deep, enough for herbs, maybe kale and some small flowers, which is what my wife wanted.

IMG_3034-small

I didn’t want to purchase those locking bricks because it was too expensive and I didn’t want to invest that kind of money into a project I was uncertain about.  I had bought some wood from Home Depot to serve a retaining wall and I really enjoy the natural look of wood.  I also picked up some gardening soil and top soil to fill the bed.

IMG_3035-small

I also added my boys’ bird house, that they made a few years ago, to the tree stump.  Who know, may be the birds will start making this their new home.  We’ll see.  I also planted lantanas to attract bees and ti leaves that I bought from my boy’s school.  Now we wait and see how this turns out.  I think the total amount spent on this project was around $120 at the most.  Not bad.  But of course no price matters if my wife enjoys her new gardening bed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

