Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | March 16, 2013

Practice, practice, practice

I need to practice what I preach to my kids.  Last night the band I’m in performed for the first time in about 4 years.  We all have kids and we try to fit practice in between our very busy schedules.  However, I could have done more at home.  Last night’s gig was really fun but I made a lot of mistakes.  A LOT.  And I can’t stop thinking about it.  I dropped my drum sticks about 3 times, played too fast, and missed the timing on some of the songs.  I don’t know if was nerves, fatigue, or the fact that I didn’t practice enough.  After the second song, my arms started to cramp up and about the middle of the set, my legs started to get tired.  So in addition to practicing, other “should-of’s” are no caffeine before the show, drink more water, eat, and wear shorts.

The upside of the night was that my wife and kids were at the show.  It was great because they never really see me play.  In fact, almost all of the band’s kids were there which made it extra special.  Some of my friends came and brought their kids too.  It was very cool.  The guy who organized the event stuck it out as well.  He is a real trooper.

Well…life is one long lesson plan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

