Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | January 6, 2013

Creating My Own BLT

I love BLTs even though I shouldn’t be eating them (my cholesterol isn’t the greatest).  And, it seems easy enough to make but the challenge has always been the crispy bacon.  Luckily, my wife found a way to “bake” bacon that ends up very crispy.

Another thing about me is that I hate to waste.  And I actually enjoy the challenge of creating something with whatever is in the fridge.  So, when I saw left over roma tomatoes, spinach leaves, my favorite Sam Choy’s dressing, bacon and hot dog buns, I thought this was an opportunity to make my own BLT.

First, I cut the roma tomatoes in half and mixed with the spinach leaves.

LT

Then I baked the bacon for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.  I had some red potatoes so I threw some of that in the oven as well.  I thought it would taste pretty cool if the potatoes were mixed with the bacon fat in the process.  It turned out ok.

B

I mixed in my favorite Sam Choy’s dressing with the tomato and spinach mix right before I assembled the sandwich to avoid soggy spinach leaves.

dressing

I thought the use of hot dog buns would be good because it was the same length as the bacon strips.  And to me, bread is bread.

BLT

Well, there you have it.  My version of the BLT.  It was very easy to make and it tasted pretty good.  I suppose I need to wait a few days before I visit my doctor.  Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Take your bacon with fish oil and it all balances out 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

