Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | December 15, 2012

Reflections from a parent

CNN posted on 12.15.12, “The number of young victims, between the ages of 5 and 10,…” and “They had their entire lives ahead of them: birthdays, graduations, weddings, kids of their own,” President Barack Obama said, wiping away tears.”

thecatdish.com posted on 12.14.12, “These tragedies make you re-evaluate your life.”

My head is chaotically filled with all types of words and questions about what happened yesterday (12.14.12). However, my heart is, well, sad. Real sad. My children are in the same age range of those posted in the news, and like any parent reacting to this event, my mind started thinking all kinds of things. What I can do better as a parent? Am I doing a good job? How do I teach compassion? The list goes on. But as I am reading the paper and watching the news, I needed to take a step back and take stock of my reality – the here and now. Exactly like what thecatdish.com said, “…re-evaluate your life.” Like many parents who posted their reactions on social media sites, I held my kids a little longer, gazed at their faces a little longer, and gave them some extra kisses.

As for me, I’m going to continue to make better attempts to listen. I’m going to listen to my son’s Lego stories, even though it can go on and on, because it is important to him. I’m going to listen to my son when he asks to accompany him at his school’s weekly morning assembly, because it is important to him. I’m going to listen to my wife when she asks to talk with them when something bad happens at school, because it is important to them.

My heart goes out to all families in Connecticut, and every family affected by unfortunate tragedies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

