Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | September 24, 2012

Something other than sports

When I was a kid, it was sports and school.  However, some of my friends would go to this thing called “Boy Scouts.”  All I knew is that they made cool knots, did some camping, and built stuff.  I didn’t think much of it at the time.  As I grew older, those same friends would apply what they learned on everyday things.  In fact, when I would do outdoor stuff, the folks that did some kind of scouting are the most helpful and useful.

So when my wife and I were thinking about other things for our kids to do, we thought of cub scouts.  My oldest is not all that thrilled about sports but loves to discover things.  We didn’t want him to be a homebody so we thought cub scouts would be perfect.  My son was sold when he heard the word “knives” and “guns” at the orientation.  Anyway, we are maybe a month in and so far so good.  The kids are great, the leaders are great, and so are the parents.

This past weekend was his first community service.  This was probably the first time he did real work.  I was apprehensive at first because it was a wet and muddy day, but he jumped right in.

The community service was campus beautification project for a nearby elementary school.  They planted new plants and pulled weeds.  The older kids painted the campus and did other more major projects.  When I got home, I asked my wife, “What do you think is the one thing that bring boys together?”  She said, “bugs.”  She was right.

In between projects, it was a common to find pocket of kids checking out bugs.  I didn’t mind at all.  I’m really happy we signed him up.  The scouts are teaching him to be a good citizen while learning skills that will make him more independent and best of all, more confident.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

