Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | July 21, 2012

A hidden gem: The U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii

We drive by it on our way to Waikiki.  We see it as we park at the Hale Koa Hotel for a wedding or some kind of event.  But what was preventing us from actually going in?  Nothing.  What am I talking about?  The U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii!  What a gem!

Tucked away in the middle of the Hale Koa Hotel and the Trump  Waikiki is a museum that holds rich information about Hawaii’s history with the military.  My boys LOVE anything military so this was a treat.  We’ve been to this place before but decided on a limb to check it out today, and it didn’t disappoint.

The Museum is housed in the Battery Randolph, which in itself is very cool.  For me it was surreal that I was standing in an actual bunker used in times of war.

I learned a lot from this visit and there was so much to see.  As my wife and I asked each other as we were looking around, “why doesn’t more people know about this place?”  Tough to say.  I mean, the admissions was FREE.  Parking was on the upside.  We paid about $5.50 for about an hour, but that is typical Waikiki.

 

 

When we signed in, the retired military personnel staffing the front asked, “where do you guys live?”  I said, “right up in the Valley.”  He followed by saying, “I hope this isn’t your first time.”  Luckily for us, it wasn’t.  But more people should check out this wonderful place.

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories