Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | March 24, 2012

Lego Urban Planning

A while back I put together my first ever Lego table.  As a result, I had enough extra wood pieces to make more tables.  So with the encouragement from one of our good friends who offered to design a more solid leg frame, I started to design the next table.

The idea was to create a road scene with blocks so my kids could create a mini city.  This process took about week.  I could only assemble the table in the evening between their extra-curricular activities.  The kids were also involved with the design, which was fun.  I think they liked paint all over their hands and faces.  My wife had to adjust.  Anyway, below is my journey from start to finish.

Thanks Randy for the legs.  It turned out great.  All I had to purchase was the flange, screws, and nuts.

I used to of my son’s Lego plates to measure the size of the city blocks.  Apparently I could only fit two, but I’m sure the boys will find a way to make it work.

Let the urban planning begin.  I had to make sure the roads were wide enough for the Lego vehicles.

My kids had fun creating their new city.  They wanted a sand dune, pond, ocean, and a pumpkin patch.  My youngest wanted to paint a ninja on his city block.

This technique (the above shot) was suggested by another one of our good friends, to avoid cracking the wood.  It definitely worked.

After I removed the painters tape, I then had to re-place them so I could paint the roads.

Almost done.  I tried to spray a glaze coating on top but it was a total fail.  The first can exploded (no one got hurt) and the second can got clogged after a few minutes of spraying.  The end result had glossy patches that was frustrating but there was nothing I could do at that point.

So here it is.  The finished product.  I completed the assembly before the boys woke up.  There were Legos everywhere once they woke up and discovered their new table.

I have a smaller piece of wood left.  I am not exactly sure what do with it but for now, I’ll just enjoy watching this new city develop.  Happy building kids!

Leave a Reply

Categories

