Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | December 10, 2011

Building a Lego table – Day 2

I’m tired.  I got up at 5am to eat something before I started on the table.  My first step was to measure the floor flange.

I’m terrible at math so I can only hope I did it right.  The legs are supposed to clear the portable shelves for the Legos.  Anyway, at 6am, I felt it was safe to start drilling the holes.  I noticed all my neighbors were up so I assumed it was safe.  No one complained…yet.  Once that was done, I started painting.

I did one coat at around 7am, another at around 11am, and a final coat/touch up at around 3pm.  It has been raining so I’m pretty sure its not drying properly, but I must stick to my boss’s deadline.  Next I installed the floor flange for the legs.

This came with it’s set of problems.  Out of the 16 screws I purchased at Home Depot, I picked ONE that was the wrong size.  I was a little annoyed that I had to drive back to Home Depot for one screw.  Then one thing I didn’t anticipate (since I don’t even know how to operate a hammer) was how the screw would react to the wood.

I actually wanted to screw head to be flush to the surface.  I didn’t realize the wood would crack so I did my best to touch it up.

My plan is to finish everything tonight after I return from my boys’ Christmas party.  Let’s hope the paint is dry.

Responses

  1. Good luck with that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

