Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | November 21, 2011

Thanksgiving starts….NOW!

I LOVE Thanksgiving.  I would go as far to say that I LOVE Thanksgiving more than Christmas.  Thanksgiving still provides that deeper meaning of family and fellowship.

Throughout most my of teen and now adult life, I would hear horror turkey stories – too dry, too raw, over cooked, under cooked.  About 5 years ago, I just had to give it a try because it seemed like a really interesting (and fragrant) challenge.  I took the easy route for my first attempt with a 10 pounder and to make a long story short, I have been the turkey guy every year for the past 4 years.

I love trying different ways to roast a turkey.  I once tried char siu turkey but NEVER AGAIN (sorry Jill).  It was TOO much work.  So, keeping it simple is a little up my ally.  I’ll journal my journey in hopes it will turn out ok for the 5th time.  Every year I think its going to fail, so we’ll see how this one goes.

I was waiting for this day, so I actually took the entire week off from work.  I don’t know what is so “super” about supermarkets.  I got most of my stuff from Chinatown and other stuff from our yard.

I’ve read about various ways to make a brine and decided to do somewhat of a combo.  The salt is a must.  I have no idea if all that other stuff makes a difference, but it is worth a try.

The bird is going to sit in this for about two days, then I going to let it sit for another day while coated with some butter goodness.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

