Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | August 20, 2011

Rock band and fatherhood a tough mix

Family always come first.  That is one of the mantras of the band I’m in (www.facebook.com/thegodsofhifi).  We’re in the midst of recording for the first time after being together for about 3 years.  I thought it was going to be a quick thing…but I was wrong.  I play the drums and since I’m not that good, it takes a while to create a solid track so the other guys have an easier time doing their thing.  As a side note, the producer (Ben @ Vibe Asylum) as been very patient.

Anyway…I had plans to do some drum edits tonight with the producer but my wife caught my son’s cold.  What a bummer.  I guess going to the Hawaiian Water Adventure Park with a cold isn’t the best remedy.  So rather than leaving a bunch of sugar filled kids with my wife, who is fighting a 103 degree fever, I had to cancel my session.  Family always come first.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love my wife.  I love my kids.  But I also love playing music.

After I tuck in my kids, my wife, and do some grocery shopping, I guess I’ll be watching some live concert footage via YouTube to get my music fix.

Leave a Reply

Categories

