Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | May 15, 2011

Culture Saturday

I think my kids’ culture gauge is on full.  We spent the morning at the Bishop Museum to view their dinosaur and volcano exhibits.  We got the annual family pass and it is TOTALLY worth it.  Its pretty cool how the kids never get bored of it.  And we all learn something new every time we visit the Hawaiian Hall.  I really should have paid more attention in my Hawaiian Studies course.

In the late afternoon, we checked out the Eisa Drum Festival at Kapiolani Community College.  What a GREAT show!  I love anything drums, plus the event was another learning experience about my own heritage, Okinawan.  I thought it was great how the MC provided a brief background of each performance.  It provided a better understanding on what we were watching.  It was a definite added bonus that I ran into my dad at the event.  I had no idea that he was going to be there.  Anyway, I hope this becomes an annual event.

Leave a Reply

Categories

