Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | May 8, 2011

Happy Dont Take People For Granted Day

There are a lot of teachers, but the best one are our mothers.  They teach us stuff like integrity, resilience, humility, and caring.  Moms don’t ask for much, but they go beyond the call (and even beyond that).  I dragged my mom through hell and back, and all she asks for nowadays is a phone call.  Just a phone call.  My wife went through A LOT when we had our kids, and did not complain.  For some reason, this year I didn’t feel I could capture my gratitude through a store purchase.  Rather I’m spending the day doing something that requires a little more heart.  I’m also trying to teach my kids to do the same.  My boys decorated the house with drawings they created, and I’m making an attempt to make a meal that is somewhat satisfying.

So to my “teachers”, I did listen, I did watch, I did learn, and I’m trying to be the best father with the tools that were given to me.

Happy Mothers and Wife’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

