Posted by: Dad...Guess What?! | April 26, 2011

I used to HATE yard work

It’s funny how life’s lessons has a delayed affect.  I hated yard work when I was a kid, and I know that frustrated my dad.  I remember a time helping him out and formed a blister after working like 10 minutes, but stilled demanded an ICEE.  I actually got one.  What a guy (my dad).  Anyway, the tables have turned and I love doing yard work and gardening.  I’ve also discovered that this has been a learning experience not only for myself, but for my kids.

It has taught my kids that the environment is ok, and in fact it should be treated with the utmost care.  My kids witnessed a big plot of dirt turn into grass after we fed it (water) and took care it (weeded).  They picked tomatoes that was later used for dinner.  They saw the progression of a sunflower bloom and learned parts of the flower can be replanted to make more flowers.  At the end of the day, they didn’t ask for ICEE.  They asked questions.  They wanted information.  I would have never thought the yard, the place I once hated, would be a thriving classroom.

Leave a Reply

Categories

